Makeshift gazebo – Haiku #32

 

 

wind tucks at the sheet
poles like mikado tumble
tea inside today *)

 

Originally in Dutch:
*) wind trekt aan de stof
mikadostokken teneer
de thee staat binnen

 
About Jikai

Living a life of blessed less where my feet support my walk and my hands create my story. View all posts by Jikai

5 responses to “Makeshift gazebo – Haiku #32

  • rrpcco

    I think you handled those pathetics on the guardian website remarkably well. Unfortunately such places are magnets for those who lack the talent to get their words selected by others rather than merely typed in!
    Cheers anyway. PS – I’d be too scared to bring a homeless person home, that they might steal things I need etc. How do you cope with that? Read a bit of your series but it’s gruesome stuff, probably won’t be able to sleep tonight now!

    • Barbara 不真 de Zoete

      I’m a bit picky as to whom I invite. Because I am a woman, I am mainly concerned about my safety. So far all went well.
      Also I hardly own anything of value. There is little to take. And if something would be taken, well, he or she must have a bigger need for it than I do.

      The main thing is, I remember being taken in by someone. Being trusted, you don’t violate the trust. I guess that goes for most people.

      • rrpcco

        One small positive of being even threatened with homelessness is that one soon finds out who one’s true friends are – and aren’t.
        Your series of episodes misses out a key stage, namely why someone would “run away” and have “nowhere to go”. Even in today’s atomised societies most people have friends, relatives or associates, or in the uk there are organisations (however flawed at least not as grim as the streets). I expect that usually such a person would have “issues” already, which may be part of why they get involved in drugs and crime and the wrong company.

  • Barbara 不真 de Zoete

    If someone believes they have no where to go, that is a truth to them, regardless the causes or the source to this believe. It is what drives them to sleeping rough and keeping away from shelters, friends, family.

    I left the why out on purpose. The why is often criticised and is part of the persistent judgment people tend to have on the homeless. Honestly, it should be of no concern to others why someone takes to sleeping rough. If prevention is your main goal, then it is relevant. If it is about those already out there, just care for who they are now. That’s all they need.

    • Beena

      Curiously you seem to relate to the helped person without regard to where they have come from (timewise) or where they are heading or trying to head. But instead just relate to them like as a passing train/ship. Curiously this ties with one Ukrainian street child who said of his aims in life, “absolutely nothing”.

Leave a Reply

