The Eightfold Path #4, Right Action – “Stop”

And what is right action? Abstaining from taking life, abstaining from stealing, abstaining from unchastity. This is called right action.” – Sutta Nipata XLV 8

When I took the five precepts at my Jukai ?, I didn’t know that they were directly related to the Noble Eightfold Path. As it turns out the first three precepts are describing what to do for ‘right action’, or rather what not to do since the precepts are about not doing.

.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.

Somehow I keep coming back to the Angulimala story. I come across it and every time I read it, it moves me deeply. In the Angulimala story the Buddha states right action in a even more clear and simple manner:

I have stopped; I am still, Angulimala. It’s you who needs to stop.”

That’s all. “Stop.”

It will be my mantra for the time ahead. For as long as I need it. I will stop. As I sit, work, study, walk, sleep, I will stop. As I do my week-long pilgrimage, I will stop step by step.

“Stop” resonates with me. It makes me weep. From somewhere deep within me, tears are triggered every time I come to that one point in the Angulimala stroy: “Stop”.

I will stop. I promise.

 
煩惱無盡誓願斷
Bonno mu jin sei gan dan
Delusions are inexhaustible,
I vow to put an end to them.
About Jikai

Living a life of blessed less where my feet support my walk and my hands create my story. View all posts by Jikai

Leave a Reply

