No strings attached

Life, as far as we understand it, is the exception in the universe that we know. Last Sesshin this was probably the most crucial sentence for me I got to hear from the teachers mouth. Taking the generally excepted definition for ‘life’, most of the universe we know is empty and otherwise it is dead. The bare fact that I live, breath, walk is in it self literally exceptional, extraordinary and just for that reason alone, extremely valuable.

Let alone my life as a human being. As a human being I’m given the capacity to open up my Mind. Open my third eye to behold the depth in myself and in the world, if there is a difference between them. Use my life as a tool to bring my Mind to perfection and total awareness. And from within that total awareness I can and will sustain all life, known and unknown, in it’s right to manifest itself.

This I now experience as a sacred duty and a sacral right in one. And I need every move I make to be towards this one condition: Enlightenment. So I walk towards the South fully convicted and confident my moves will take me to the North. I cut all strings attached so I am fully in touch with the one thread that is the net.

And thus I vow:

眾生無邊誓願度
Shu Jo Mu Hen Sei Gan Do
Sentient beings are numberless, I vow to save them.

煩惱無盡誓願斷
Bonno mu jin sei gan dan
Delusions are inexhaustible, I vow to put an end to them.

法門無量誓願學
Ho mon mu ryo sei gan gaku
The Dharma’s are boundless, I vow to master them.

佛道無上誓願成
Butsu do mu jo sei gan do
The Buddha way is unsurpassable, I vow to attain it.

About Jikai

Living a life of blessed less where my feet support my walk and my hands create my story. View all posts by Jikai

Leave a Reply

